Skip to content

Gotta Have Faith, Faith, Faith

May 13, 2010

[George Michael, natch.]

Things aboard my pirate ship are…slow. Once might even use the word “stagnating,” were one in a particularly pessimistic mood. One might also utter the sentence, “I am incapable of writing anything worthwhile and should obviously go back to school to become a dental hygienist.” Were one in a particularly pessimistic mood, of course. I, on the other hand, am clearly sailing along on puffy white clouds of self-confidence and positivity, chanting mantras like “Matt Bomer will make an excellent Callum in the movie version of my masterpiece.”

Right.

Apparently when my mom was doing NaNoWriMo and hit a similar rough patch, I told her, “Have faith in your characters. They’ll explain everything soon.”

I have no memory of ever being this profound. My mama’s not in the habit of lying to me, though, so I guess at one point in my life I was capable of dispensing wise writing advice.

Now if only I could follow it.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. bwchic permalink
    May 18, 2010 6:32 pm

    Matt Bomer is wonderful.

    • May 18, 2010 6:37 pm

      I’m fairly certain I spent more time hunting for the perfect picture of him than I did actually writing this entry. :-)

      • bwchic permalink
        May 18, 2010 6:41 pm

        Time well spent, no doubt :)

Leave a Reply

