Skip to content

Waking Up Is Hard To Do

March 31, 2010

I had an incredibly vivid dream last night in which I overhauled my entire WIP to factor in two new protagonists. Their names were Sara and Henry, and they were distinctly not of my book’s world. This was evidently the point; dream-me seemed to find my fantastical land lacking and thus decided to add an everyday one for contrast. Sara and Henry, then, were the typical Muggles/visitors-to-Narnia discovering a magical world and all its attendant delights and conflicts. There was also something about an old woman named Snow, but that bit is mostly lost to fogs of sleep.

What’s particularly odd is that in my dream I woke up to write down these new ideas, resulting in some confusion when I actually woke up and found no such scribblings.

What does your brain get up to when you’re not looking?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. bwchic permalink
    March 31, 2010 7:17 pm

    Naps always throw me off. Once, I woke up, glanced at the clock – 5:30 (I wondered briefly why it was so sunny outside for so early) – and rushed downstairs, flustered, and demanded why my mom hadn’t woken me up – I was going to be late!
    My mom gave me a weird look and said, “It’s Sunday afternoon. What are you talking about?”

    Brains are funny things.

  2. bwchic permalink
    March 31, 2010 7:18 pm

    *I should clarify: late for school.

Leave a Reply

