Skip to content

Hey, Calling All Imaginary Friends

March 28, 2010

[Nada Surf–“Imaginary Friends“]

I’ve been a terribly delinquent blogger, I know. A combination of a stack of un-put-down-able books, being out of town, and The Germs That Kept On Germ-ing rendered me pretty darn unproductive. Happily, I’m back in the swing of things!

My characters are feeling more and more alive to me every day. In most any other profession, spending considerable amounts of time with wholly realized imaginary people might be cause for alarm, but for me it’s an excellent marker of success! In fact, I think the thrill of unabashedly enjoying one’s own characters is one of the best parts of writing. The more multifaceted and “real” my characters become, the easier and more fun it is to brainstorm, plan, and write.

As I go along my merry character-developing way, I’m being cautious not to give any characters the short end of the stick. It can be easy to get wrapped up in one or two and all their delightful quirks, flaws, and heroic traits, but stories suffer when less prominent characters are relegated to the one-dimensional sideline. I’m a recent Mad Men convert (I’ve only seen the first season, so no spoilers, please!), and one particularly impressive thing about the show is how well it looks after each and every one of its characters.

And if I can classify staring at this man as “writing-related research,” all the better…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. jschancellor permalink
    March 28, 2010 4:14 pm

    Wondered where you’d gone. Glad to hear you’re feeling a little better! I classify staring at Neal McDonough and Christian Bale as research, so…I think it counts…

    • March 31, 2010 5:40 pm

      Here I am! :-) I’d never heard of Neal McDonough until I Googled him just now–my my, I’ve been missing out…

  2. jschancellor permalink
    April 10, 2010 9:56 pm

    Yes. Yes, you have. The man is unreasonably good looking.

Leave a Reply

