Skip to content

I Want Your Love (Love, Love, Love)

February 15, 2010

[Lady Gaga–“Bad Romance”]

Wow, my very first blog prize! Thanks, Aprilynne, for hosting such a fun contest! She asked for fantasy pairings of fictional characters; I suggested Scout from To Kill A Mockingbird and Gavroche from Les Miserables as they’re both scrappy, precocious, and adventurous.

This got me thinking about fictional romances. (Not like it takes much to prompt me to do so!) I think it’s fascinating how many different types of duos can be equally compelling–unlikely matches are intriguing because of their surprising chemistry, while made-for-each-other pairings are moving because of their inarguable compatibility. As a reader, I’ve rooted for both intellectually stirring love affairs (Jo and Professor Bhaer in Little Women, Sally and Daniel in The Tiger In The Well) and seductively combative interactions (Elena and Raphael in Angels’ Blood); endearingly mismatched couples (Ron and Hermione in the Harry Potter series) and perfectly-aligned yet ultimately doomed lovers (Cecilia and Robbie in Atonement). There are seemingly endless contexts within which the sparks can fly, which is why I’m so enjoying crafting my own fictional romances. At this point, even I’m not entirely sure who everyone is going to end up with–or if they’re going to end up with anyone at all–and the variety of possibilities is thrilling.

Do you have a favorite fictional pairing, or a favorite type of fictional romance?

Leave a Reply

