Skip to content

Getting Back On The Horse (Or Pirate Ship)

February 8, 2010

There’s a reason I strive to keep my writing schedule consistent–it’s often hard to get back into the routine after time away from it. Now that I’m done with the Great Wisdom Teeth Party of 2010, I’m easing myself back into the writing process by doing a lot of brainstorming and white board scribbling, talking things over to myself and letting my mind wander back down the paths of my book. I’m excited to re-immerse myself in the world I’m creating.

How do you get back into the writing groove after time away?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2010 7:30 pm

    Getting back into the groove can be tricky. I usually re-read some of the authors whose work really inspires me (books I wish I’d written!), and also some of my favorite books on writing – like Bird by Bird (Anne Lamotte), or The Artist’s Way (Julia Cameron).

    Good luck with the writing and the teeth!

    • February 9, 2010 7:11 am

      I love Bird by Bird. I’ve not heard of The Artist’s Way–I’ll have to check it out. Thanks for the well wishes! :-)

  2. February 8, 2010 11:21 pm

    Ooo, I’m sorry to hear about the wisdom teeth party! I hope your mouth is feeling better now. (For whatever reason, it took my mouth twice as long as most people’s to heal! So uncool.) Getting back into the writing groove is HARD. Near impossible, really. Here’s how I do it:

    (A) Feel guilty for not writing
    (B) Let guilt stew and build until the sheer force of it opens my document
    (C) Read a few scenes I know I like, to remind myself WHY I like it
    (D) Dive in. Try not too think too hard about how bad it is.
    (E) Repeat as necessary.

    I have never claimed to be an expert ;)

    Thanks for visiting my blog! Your comments make me smile.

    • February 9, 2010 7:14 am

      Yikes, I’m sorry you had such a rough teeth time! I’m doing much better now, thanks. :-) Haha, that list of yours looks very familiar…

      Your blog makes me smile, so I’m glad I can return the favor. :-)

  3. February 9, 2010 3:05 am

    Dentistry in any form is one of my nightmare scenarios, so it’s good to see you back so soon. Like you, I find that letting myself slack off from maintaining a daily writing routine means I find it hard to get back into writing. Deadlines are good for staving off a lull or resuming the routine, even when they’re self-imposed. Incentives can also be fun. Group activities like WYOAD are my current strategy; having others to keep me honest seems to help. :)

    • February 9, 2010 7:16 am

      Oh yes, outside motivation can be very compelling. That’s why it’s always really encouraging to receive comments here–it reminds me that I’m being held accountable in some way! I was happy to see that WYAOD worked so well for you. :-)

Leave a Reply

