Skip to content

Like An Unexpected Song

January 27, 2010

[Song and Dance“Unexpected Song”]

Phew. I just wrote the hard scene that I built up to yesterday. I can’t honestly remember the last time I was this emotionally affected by my own writing–which is not to say that the writing itself is earth-shatteringly brilliant or evocative, just that it was a particularly tough sequence for me to tackle. Of course, I hope that it will eventually be brilliant and evocative, but for right now I’m just pleased that I’m done with my first go at it.

I’m especially satisfied because I had absolutely no idea that this scene and its implications were going to appear until a paragraph or two before they did. Taking an utterly unexpected flash of inspiration and running with it can be a gamble. If you don’t know what’s going to happen you, well, don’t know what’s going to happen! That can be scary–but it can also be incredibly rewarding, as I was reminded tonight with the success of this surprise scene.

Do you enjoy unplanned twists and turns in your writing? Find them terrifying? Both?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2010 12:15 am

    I think my best writing comes when I just suddenly go with it. I stop worrying whether it is following the plan and just let the characters run with what they are doing. Sometimes it doesn’t work but when it does the flwo of the writing is much better and I find it more enjoyable to read.
    Thanks for sharing this post.

    • February 2, 2010 10:44 am

      You’re quite welcome! :-) And I completely agree–when you try to force a plot point, it definitely shows in the writing.

  2. bwchic permalink
    January 29, 2010 8:04 pm

    I started my novel on NaNoWriMo (which I’m sure you’ve heard of – if not, look into it, for sure!) and have still been chipping away at it… When I first started writing, I actually only had very vague, semi-sketchy, very nuanced plans, barely a skeleton – basically a beginning and and end with not much in the middle. But to the point: this meant (means) that when inspiration suddenly strikes, I have no guilt (or what have you) whatsoever, because more often than not it ends up solving a plot kink or introducing a new twist that’ll flow quite well into another part that I’d had planned for later but wasn’t quite sure how to work in. So – yes, sudden inspiration is good :)

    • February 2, 2010 10:43 am

      I love NaNo! Writing like that can be very freeing, as you don’t feel beholden to a predetermined plan. It can also be a bit unsettling, though, as you often have no idea how things are going to turn out!

Leave a Reply

