Skip to content

Noveling With Alex Trebek

January 26, 2010

Writing, I think, can be like Jeopardy. Sometimes you answer an easy question and get a small prize. Sometimes you solve a harder problem and get a big prize. And sometimes, if you’re lucky, you take a risk on a Daily Double and get a thrillingly large prize.

Today was a $200 day. Small discoveries, small rewards, not a huge amount of progress. But every little bit counts, right, Mr. Trebek? I’ve been steadily producing a bare minimum of 1,000 words a day, and as long as I don’t let that slip I feel okay.

I sense an intense, difficult scene approaching, and that’s probably why my writing was on the halting side today. I’ll need to really be feeling the appropriate emotional energy for the scene to work, and I could just tell that it wasn’t going to flow today. I know that I can’t put it off forever, though! I’ll probably plunge into it tomorrow, and hope to hit a Daily Double!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2010 8:52 pm

    1000 words/day! Good for you! I aim for that, but I seem to naturally write about 700 words at a stretch. So I think I’m going to stick with that for now. Aim for a thousand, happy with 700.

Leave a Reply

