Skip to content

And They’re Off (Again)!

January 25, 2010

Oh, hooray! With excitement and trepidation, I jumped into my reboot today, and thus far it’s going encouragingly well. There have been a few fleeting moments of “Oh dear, maybe this is all rubbish and starting over was a terrible idea,” but they’re so far outnumbered by the instances of “Well, that’s interesting” and “I didn’t know that was going to happen!” I’m already at nearly five shiny new pages, and I still have until 9 PM to crank out more before granting myself today’s Silly Reward For Productivity: the new episode of Greek. (Such a divine guilty pleasure, and as I’m temporarily at my parents’ house, I’ll actually get to watch it on a real TV!)

Interestingly, I’m not only discovering new plot points as I go; I seem to be discovering a new writing style. It’s not tremendously different, but I can definitely feel a change this time around. It’s more…fairy-tale-like, perhaps? Particularly the first two paragraphs, which unexpectedly developed in the vein of “long ago, in a faraway land.” They may actually be excised eventually, as I’m not quite sure whether they’ll fit with the rest of the book, but for now I’m enjoying them as an opener. They’re sort of like a sign on an entrance archway, introducing the story and reminding me where, generally speaking, I’m planning to go.

Even the dialogue, which is typically a thorn in my side, isn’t feeling as stilted and difficult to craft as it usually does. I might have even managed to sneak some (gasp) humor into one of the conversations! Will wonders never cease?

Of course, now that I’ve written this glowing post about The Joys Of Easy Authorship, it’ll probably take me ten days to produce three more paragraphs…Ah, well. I’ll enjoy the smooth ride while it lasts!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2010 5:52 pm

    Woohoo! Keep going!

    I admit I’ve been sneaking away from Uninvoked lately to write a new story. I’m loving it so far. I haven’t had fun writing new stories in a long time.

    • January 26, 2010 1:48 am

      Thanks for the cheerleading! :)

      Ooh, how exciting that you’ve found something new to move you! That’s always a thrill. I do hope you don’t permanently abandon Uninvoked, though–I love reading your chapters!

  2. jschancellor permalink
    January 26, 2010 1:03 pm

    Hey, go to facebook and add Two Steps from Hell—off to the left of their profile is a music player that has some really awesome stuff. Their album doesn’t come out till Feb, but if you like Immediate, you’ll like these guys. By the way, are we friends on facebook?? I assumed so since you addressed me by my real name. :)

    • January 27, 2010 10:47 pm

      Ooh, thanks for the tip! I’ll definitely check them out. Your name actually popped up attached to one of your comments!

Leave a Reply

