Skip to content

A Conversation With My Characters

January 17, 2010

Garrity: Remember that time the name “Callum” popped into your head and you really wanted an excuse to use it?

Me: Um, yes…

Garrity: Well, you have an excuse now, in the form of Love Interest Number Three. He’s devastatingly handsome, fiendishly charming, just the tiniest bit bad in that delicious sort of way, and–

Me: Excuse me? Love Interest Number Three?

Garrity: Yes, three. I am a messy, complicated, multifaceted woman. I am all the more interesting because I am complex. You said so yourself. So why shouldn’t I have more than one love interest?

Me: Gar, you already have more than one.

Garrity: So? Why stop at two?

Callum: I completely agree, beautiful.

Me: Listen, Cal. Can I call you Cal? I understand you’re devastatingly handsome, fiendishly charming, and just the tiniest bit bad in that delicious sort of way, but I did not invite you. Garrity already has two potential love interests. She doesn’t need a third one, certainly not one who’s going to be as much of a handful as I sense you will be.

Garrity: Did I mention he’s Love Interest Number One’s brother?

Me: See? Handful.

Callum: Oh, you’ll get used to me, love.

Garrity: She bloody well better, as she’s stuck with you now.

Me: I am?

Callum and Garrity: Yes.

Socially acceptable schizophrenia, indeed.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. jschancellor permalink
    January 17, 2010 3:56 pm

    Ha ha! You sure you aren’t related to me??

    • January 17, 2010 9:51 pm

      Well, long-lost relatives DO tend to make for interesting plot twists, so maybe we should look into this… :)

  2. January 17, 2010 9:31 pm

    Such a relief to know I’m not the only one who has bossy characters as well ones that appear without warning and have no respect for the idea of ‘waiting in turn’. :)

    • January 17, 2010 9:45 pm

      You are definitely not alone! :) My characters are constantly wrenching away my writerly control–which I actually take as a good thing, surprising/frustrating/discombobulating as it can be. I figure if my characters don’t have loudly-voiced opinions, they’re probably not very interesting!

      Thanks so much for coming by. :)

Trackbacks

  1. Oh Happy Day! « TWADDLE OR ANYTHING
  2. Start Fresh, Like A Baby In A Sink « TWADDLE OR ANYTHING

Leave a Reply

