Skip to content

Any Resemblance Is (Probably Not At All) Coincidental

January 12, 2010

I got to spend the majority of yesterday and today with some of my favorite real-life main characters, and aside from simply having a magnificent time with them, I discovered an incredibly comforting kind of inspiration. It is one that manifests itself in familiar gestures, emotions, and mannerisms: how a friend cradles her cup of tea early in the morning or the enthusiasm in another friend’s voice when he talks about his poetry; the way a friend leans his head against me while he plays guitar or the brightness of another friend’s eyes when she laughs.

I didn’t take any notes while I was with my friends, nor can I specify or enumerate any particular writing developments prompted by my visit. But I know, viscerally, that having the book in the back of my mind while spending time with people I love was a combination that will prove rewarding. My gut tells me that I have gained a deeper understanding of my characters, that the pictures I paint of them from now will on be infused with more reality, more heart. It’s as if I had a tape recorder with me the whole trip, and now that I’m playing the tape back it sounds like one of those nature sound CDs people fall asleep to. I can’t pinpoint anything I’m hearing, but whatever it is makes me feel confident, relaxed, at peace.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2010 11:52 pm

    It is always great when being around people inspires and watching people while they go about their everyday business can be really helpful to developing better characters.

  2. January 13, 2010 12:24 am

    Wonderful, and I hope that you soaked up those drops of life gifted to you by your friends, and poured it back into your work. Such moments are priceless.

Trackbacks

  1. Tell Me The Truth And I’ll Tell You The Truth « TWADDLE OR ANYTHING

Leave a Reply

