Skip to content

The Trouble With Mid-Sleep “Eureka!” Moments…

January 9, 2010

…is that my notes tend to look like this: “royal gar tog at beg, broth not sis, locked w books, pretend is sill once kregnant.”

Oh yes. Kregnant.

Believe it or not, I can actually decipher that mess, and (believe it or not) it’s a very helpful mess! Once again, my subconscious came to the rescue; I had a huge revelation as I was falling asleep last night, and I’m really excited to start implementing it. Go figure, though–it means yet another opening. At this rate, it’s going to take me three years to write my first chapter. At least I’ll know it’s a good one, I guess!

I know I’ve delightedly proclaimed this before, but I really do think I’m on the right track now. Last night’s “eureka!” resolved a lot of issues and made future plot points significantly more interesting. (More interesting to me, anyway…) The book is starting to feel less like a distant, nebulous image and more like something with shape and substance–something I can hold in my hands and examine and mold. And since the Germ Monster appears to have heeded my warning and started to pack its bags, I’m hoping to do a lot more examining and molding from here on out.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2010 10:24 pm

    Let me take a moment to ponder this Eureka moment…

    I knoew!!

    You were writing in klingon to keep your secrets safe. ^^

  2. January 9, 2010 10:31 pm

    Haha I like your theory–though I’d probably find it harder to decipher Klingon than my own sleepy abbreviations!

    Ooh, your blog/noveling project looks terrifically interesting! I’m going to spend ages wandering around it, I’m sure. :) Thanks for stopping by!

  3. January 9, 2010 10:54 pm

    You know… no one says you have to start at the beginning and end at the end… sometimes people become kregnant in the middle of stories, too! Hint hint, wink wink.

    • January 9, 2010 11:03 pm

      Haha ohh, I wish typing “lol” didn’t bring back such awkward junior high memories, because you really did just make me laugh out loud. :)

      And typically I’d be inclined to agree with you, but I’ve so frequently been set ablaze by an idea and then rapidly felt all motivation die away that I thought it’d be best to be strict about structure this time around. I’m worried that if I skip around too much, I’ll just write all the fun bits first and then lose any sense of through-line or drive to finish. But obviously the process is different for everyone!

      PS–I’m not neglecting your pages, I swear! I don’t have work on Monday, so I’ve reserved a comfy slot for them then. I want to be able to give them the complete, wide-awake attention they deserve. :)

      • January 9, 2010 11:44 pm

        Well, I’ll do it, then: lol

        I’m a firm believer of the idea that if you’ve got something in your head, write it down. I’m a big fan of skipping all over the place to whatever scene or section I have in my head at any given moment. For example, I’ve been musing on a particularly painful section to write all day (painful as in difficult as in I’m not sure how I’m going to do it effectively) and yet when I sat down, for some reason I jumped right to a part at the end that I hadn’t thought about in ages. Maybe I’m just procrastinating on that section, but who cares? That part at the end will have to be written eventually, too, and as far as I’m concerned, progress is progress.

        Oh, and PS- Take your time! There is absolutely no rush whatsoever. And I haven’t given them complete, wide-awake attention in ages, so that’s probably more than they deserve, haha!

        • January 12, 2010 4:45 pm

          Oh, I would definitely never not write down an idea–I’m just trying to keep the main bulk of my work linear, with notes in a separate document to refer to when they’re chronologically relevant.

          Just emailed you. :)

Leave a Reply

