Skip to content

“Warlocks Are The Enemies Of God!”

January 6, 2010

Alas, the headache I woke up with yesterday has progressed into Generally Feeling Rotten. I’m still hoping to add at least something to my word count before going to sleep, but in the meantime I’ve been spending a lot of quality time with Netflix free streaming. I started my day with Jesus Camp–don’t ask why I thought that would make me feel better–and have now moved on to Law & Order: SVU. (Probably unsurprisingly, the title of this entry is taken from the former; it was simultaneously unnerving and hilarious to hear a children’s pastor proclaim that, had Harry Potter been in the Old Testament, he would have been put to death.) Both viewing experiences have proved to be strangely relevant to my writing, Jesus Camp because of its unsettling insights into extremist religion and SVU because of its depiction of a badass heroine fighting against injustice.

It’s encouraging that I’ve started finding connections to my book in nearly everything; it makes me feel immersed in the world I’m creating even when I’m not explicitly setting words down on the page. (A turn of phrase that I can’t seem to abandon despite its irrelevance–I’m madly in love with my new netbook, and hardly ever actually use pen and paper when working on writing projects.) I like that I can sense a connection to my characters and their stories that exists outside of my writing sessions. And hey, another reason to love SVU is never a bad thing…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2010 9:38 pm

    It’s so nice to know that other writers love SVU. I suppose it makes me feel a tad less guilty when I’m glued to one of the marathons…like, ahem, today…for example. Great blog! I placed a link for it on my own–I look forward to reading more! Here’s to a great 2010…

    • January 12, 2010 11:15 pm

      Oh, one should never feel guilty for being glued to SVU. :)

      Thanks so much for the encouragement! I really enjoy your blog, as well, and have linked you right back!

Leave a Reply

