Skip to content

In Which I Fail To Grasp The Concept Of “Being A Morning Person”

January 5, 2010

I woke up with a headache and a vague sense of doom. I knew I had to get up and be productive–c’mon, you can’t give up on a schedule without even trying it–but I was cold and groggy and pain was pulsing behind my eyes and I could barely even remember my characters’ names, let alone why I’d thought I’d want to write about them immediately after waking up. Besides, I’d written tons yesterday. Didn’t I deserve to pull the covers over my head and hibernate?

Um, no, actually. I didn’t. In an ideal world, the productivity of one day should never negate the need for more productivity the next day. I should have kicked my sleepy self into gear and gotten up to write like I’d promised myself I would. Unfortunately, the writing willpower mechanism just wasn’t functioning. So here I am on my nocturnal schedule once again. Sigh.

On the bright side, my fight scene research is going well. My darling mother didn’t bat an eye when I rather bluntly asked her about the noise a man would make when wounded in a very specific area, but instead promptly found me a gruesomely fun collection of fight sounds. Cheri also pointed me to this great list of resources for mystery and crime writers. I may regret choosing to continue this research over dinner tonight, but I’d better toughen up if I have any hopes of successfully writing about it!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2010 9:30 pm

    Aahhh! Partners in Rhyme rules. I used to use them to source sound effects for theater.

Leave a Reply

