Skip to content

The Benefits Of Killing Your Darlings

January 1, 2010

Well, I did it–sort of, anyway. It’s more of a fade-to-black death than a “LOOK! I’m killing this character, hear me roar!” sort of death. I told you I was reluctant about it. (I may, in fact, have to go back later and make the death less lame so it’s not wildly obvious how little I wanted to write it.)

But, as it turns out, not only was the unfortunate event unavoidable, it ended up being incredibly helpful, more so than I was expecting it to be. I am now on my third beginning (this one, thankfully, didn’t deviate from what I’d already written nearly as much as my previous restart did), and I’m feeling even better about the book’s opening. Poor Garrity, alas, doesn’t get to start off laughing anymore, though I suppose she should at least be thankful that I didn’t send her back to body-wracking pain.

What I did do was write, the most I’ve churned out in one sitting since starting this whole mess–I mean, project. As soon as I became a murderer of beloved characters, it seems, I also morphed into a productive writer. And I wasn’t just productive in the short-term; the work I did today helped me a lot to untangle farther-reaching plot issues. This hopefully means things will flow a bit more smoothly from here on out. I’m not expecting miracles, but I do think today was somewhat of a turning point.

And all because I (fictionally) slit someone’s (fictional) throat.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2010 9:00 pm

    Poor character – sounds like he died for a good cause though. Good luck with your writing.

Leave a Reply

