Skip to content

Welcome To The New Year

December 31, 2009

I was briefly tempted to give myself the night off for the holiday, but quickly decided it was best not to let the writing habit slip even the tiniest bit. With the help of a brand-new character who waltzed onto the scene this morning, I pushed past one potential hiccup in my first chapter and started to get a clearer picture of where things are headed. I’m always excited when new characters show up, and Royalton Kidd (King of the London underground–the city’s anti-establishment underbelly, that is, not the subway system!) is proving to be particularly useful. He’s also just plain fun, which certainly helps the process.

Although this novel appeared in my head at least two months ago and I started this chronicle of it on Christmas Eve, I still feel oddly refreshed and motivated by the thought of the new year. I think New Year’s Eve can be somewhat overblown, but even as I revel in my hermit’s approach to the holiday (hello, Netflix free streaming!) I have to admit that there’s something rejuvenating about the concept of a year starting. Like opening a new notebook–clean, open, untouched. In that initial moment, before pen hits paper for the first time, the possibilities are limitless. Anything can be written.

For me and my 2010, perhaps the mantra is more along the lines of “anything should be written.” Blank pages may be inspiring, but they can’t–as numerous writers have pointed out–be edited. “Twaddle or anything,” on the other hand, can be. Something can be made into something better. Emptiness has a nasty habit of remaining empty.

Appropriately, the Motion City Soundtrack song from which I took the title for this post (“Together We’ll Ring In The New Year”) includes the line “I’m trying to find out if my words have any meaning.” Right now, I have to keep reminding myself, it doesn’t matter–so long as there are words at all.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kathryn Ann permalink
    January 1, 2010 11:01 am

    I’ve always been a little put off by people writing about their processes. (As Eliza Doolittle might have said “Don’t talk of love…or of dancing…or of writing — show me!”) But yours is a refreshing and entertaing departure from the type, witty in its own right, and actually derived from the process, rather than the usual blathering about personal angst (maybe you had an unusually happy childhood – this may hamper your literary career). I greatly look forward to your entries and most certainly to your book! (P.S. I think it takes real guts to start over and I also think that the willingness to do so separates the “would be” from the “writers”.

Leave a Reply

