Skip to content

In Medias Res

December 28, 2009

I had a rough time cranking out words today, and though at first I was tempted to blame it on my drowsiness (having work off for the holidays makes for some very interesting sleep schedules), I’m starting to think there may be more to it than that. I keep getting flashes of inspiration for later scenes rather than feeling any immense drive to work straight through my first chapter, and if even I’m not hooked by my beginning, how could I ever expect a reader to be? (Cassandra Jade has a great post about how first impressions of books are formed.)

So maybe I’m not starting at the right place. Maybe I need to stop dilly-dallying about with setting the stage and let the book start where it would be most fun for it to start. This, of course, would mean scrapping my initial 2,319 words and seven pages, but that would hardly be a large price to pay for a renewed eagerness to sit down and write every day.

I think I’m going to try it. What, after all, do I have to lose?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 28, 2009 11:38 pm

    Thanks for the link.
    On your draft, I would put what you’ve already written to the side (don’t get rid of it) because chances are you will find somewhere in the story for the information on setting that you’ve already painstakingly written. Wishing you the best of luck with your writing.

    • December 28, 2009 11:46 pm

      Thanks for your continued support! I’m definitely not going to get rid of anything I’ve already written–I have pack rat tendencies that my writing is not exempt from. :)

Leave a Reply

