Skip to content

Getting To Know You

December 28, 2009

Oh, man. Sometimes I get too entangled in my own thoughts and forget the beauty of just sitting down and letting the words emerge. I spent a lot of time with my characters today, fine-tuning previously scribbled notes as well as writing entirely new sections. All told, I’m at 2,319 words, or roughly seven pages. Not exactly War & Peace (which, in English, comes in at a staggering 560,000 words or more)–but so, so much better than nothing. I’m on my way!

It’s incredibly satisfying to feel, more and more, like my characters are actual people wandering around my head. I’m starting to know much more than just the basics of their names, what they look like, and so on; I’m getting a feel for how they think, speak, and interact. It’s like meeting people at a party, except that I can do it from my bed and if I don’t like someone, I can kick them out. (And I don’t have to pretend the Costco veggie plate is culinary genius, or out myself as a sucker for terrible pop music when a Britney Spears song comes on the radio.) My writing is often character-driven–I frequently know who I’m going to write about before I’m completely certain of the adventures I’m going to send them on–and this bunch is proving to be particularly delightful and inspiring. Especially since they have yet to judge me for listening to Britney Spears.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 28, 2009 2:32 am

    It is good that you are getting to know your characters so well. I always enjoy the planning process where I turn my characters around and around my head and tweak them until they come out just right. They frequently talk to me and tell me about themselves and slowly they become fully formed.
    Good luck with your writing.

    • December 28, 2009 1:25 pm

      Thanks so much for your encouragement! I, too, am constantly delighted when my characters talk to me (though in any other profession that might be cause for alarm!). I’m looking forward to reading your blog–I love hearing about other people’s experiences with reading and writing, especially since you’re so particularly enthusiastic about strong female characters.

Leave a Reply

