Skip to content

Christmas Eve Resolution

December 25, 2009

I’ve been writing my whole life. Poems, stories, song lyrics–you name it, I’ve probably had a go at it. I once, on a dare, wrote a 50,000-word novel in seven days. Yet I rarely call myself “a writer.” It’s not something I do with any great discipline, or on any sort of regimented schedule. More…when the mood strikes.

That, I’ve decided, is going to change.

I was planning on participating in National Novel Writing Month this year; a potent combination of swine flu and final papers rendered that goal dead virtually on arrival. Now I’m healthy and graduated, with the vaguest hints of a novel still tugging at my sleeve, whispering, “Write me! Write me!”. And so I’m going to. No excuses–and, probably, very little editing. Much of what I produce may be, as Katherine Mansfield put it, twaddle. But that’s okay, as long as I keep chugging away, adding to my word count every single day, even if only in minute and/or utterly absurd increments.

This blog is going to be my scrapbook, my progress report, my accountability. Along with adding to my book’s word count every day, I’m going to write an entry here every day, in the hopes that I will stay the course for fear of having to type “Today I wrote absolutely nothing.”

Some people make grand life promises to themselves on New Year’s. I rather like the idea of starting on Christmas, when everything feels warm and festive and no one is going to make me get out of my pajamas. (I can almost guarantee that I’m going to carry out 90% of this project in my pajamas.) So at the moment–to bed before midnight, so as not to catch Santa in the act. Tomorrow–the writing begins.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

